A20 Pro Promises a 2x Faster Neural Engine: What Changes for the iOS On-Device AI Dev
Apple's new chip doubles the Neural Engine and beefs up its neural accelerators to run LLMs on the device. It's worth understanding what can already be confirmed and where it stands against Snapdragon and Dimensity.

Apple introduced the A20 Pro as "the ultimate chip for running advanced models on-device," according to the presentation this piece is based on. For those building iOS apps that rely on local inference (transcription, computer vision, embedded LLMs via Core ML or frameworks like MLX), the number that jumps out is the doubled Neural Engine: from 16 to 32 cores, with "2x the compute power." But a marketing number and a real gain in your app are different things, and that's what this piece tries to sort out.
A caveat right away: the source material is Apple's own event narration, that is, a statement from an interested party. There's no independent benchmark, no declared TOPS, and no comparison with Android competitors anywhere in it. So much of this comparison is about what can be inferred from what Apple said, what other platforms have publicly announced, and where the data is still missing.
What's at Stake, and for Whom
The use case at stake is quite specific: on-device AI inference on flagship smartphones. That includes running image-generation models, quantized LLMs (int8/int4), and vision pipelines without sending data to the cloud, whether for latency, privacy, or API cost reasons.
Three chips are competing for this space in 2025/2026:
- Apple A20 Pro, in the iPhone 18 Pro, with a 32-core Neural Engine and Neural Accelerators integrated into the CPU and GPU.
- Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Elite (the "Elite" line that succeeds the 8 Gen 3), with the Hexagon NPU and a strong bet on on-device LLMs via the AI Engine.
- MediaTek Dimensity 9400, with the APU 890 and generative model support as declared by MediaTek.
The dev's decision criterion isn't "which chip is faster on paper," but rather: on which platform does my model run with the least tooling friction, the best sustained latency, and the lowest battery consumption per inference. A chip that delivers a very high peak but throttles after 30 seconds is useless for continuous transcription or real-time AI camera work. That's why the A20 Pro's thermal angle, which the source covers extensively, matters as much as the core count.
Comparison Criteria
The table below consolidates what each platform publicly declares. Where Apple's source or competitors' material doesn't provide a comparable figure, the cell reads not disclosed, because guessing TOPS or latency here would be fabricating data.
| Criterion | Apple A20 Pro | Snapdragon 8 Elite | MediaTek Dimensity 9400 | |---|---|---|---| | Manufacturing process | 2 nm (as declared in the source) | not disclosed in this piece's material | not disclosed in this piece's material | | Dedicated AI accelerator | 32-core Neural Engine, "2x compute" vs. A19 | Hexagon NPU | APU 890 | | Extra neural accelerators | Yes, in the CPU and GPU, with FP8 2x faster | not disclosed | not disclosed | | Declared TOPS | not disclosed in the source | not disclosed in the material | not disclosed in the material | | Memory bandwidth | +50% vs. previous generation (widest interface ever used in an iPhone) | not disclosed | not disclosed | | Run third-party LLMs on-device | Explicitly mentioned | On-device LLM support announced by Qualcomm | Generative AI support announced by MediaTek | | Sustained performance | Up to +40% vs. iPhone 17 Pro (new vapor chamber) | not disclosed | not disclosed | | Tooling ecosystem | Core ML, MLX, Metal | ONNX Runtime, QNN, LiteRT | NeuroPilot, LiteRT |
Analysis by Criterion
Doubled Neural Engine. The source's central claim is direct: "We added a second Neural Engine, for a total of 32 cores. This delivers 2x the compute power." For the dev, doubling cores doesn't automatically mean 2x throughput in your model, because the bottleneck is usually memory bandwidth, not raw compute. Here Apple was consistent: it also announced a 50% increase in memory bandwidth, which it calls "the widest memory interface we've ever shipped in an iPhone." Large quantized models are bandwidth-hungry; without it, the cores sit idle waiting for data. This combo (more cores + more bandwidth) is what underpins the promise of running third-party LLMs locally.
FP8 in the Neural Accelerators. The source mentions "a new version of our Neural Accelerators with 2x faster 8-bit floating-point math." FP8 is relevant because it's an increasingly used format for LLM inference with a good precision-to-size ratio. If the Core ML and MLX pipelines expose this FP8 path in an accessible way, it becomes possible to run larger models without dropping to int4 and losing quality. This is a detail that matters more to the dev than the marketing around "desktop-class super cores."
Packaging and thermals. The point that sets the A20 Pro apart from a simple "faster chip" is the physical re-engineering. Apple says it adopted "custom packaging inspired by the M-series chips, with the silicon die now positioned side by side with the memory," taking memory out of the thermal path and connecting the silicon directly to the vapor chamber. The iPhone 18 Pro features a vapor chamber with "three times the surface area" of the iPhone 17 Pro and circulating deionized water. The declared result: up to 40% more sustained performance than the 17 Pro and up to 2x against the 16 Pro and earlier. For continuous AI workloads, sustained is the number that matters, and it's exactly where most smartphones fail.
Competitors. Here honesty takes over: this piece's material doesn't include any data on Snapdragon or Dimensity. Qualcomm and MediaTek have publicly announced on-device LLM support in their flagship NPUs, but comparing TOPS, real-world latency, or energy efficiency would require independent benchmarks that aren't in the sources. Anyone claiming "the A20 Pro is X% faster than the Snapdragon" without such tests is making it up.
Verdict by Use Case
iOS app team already in the Apple ecosystem, running on-device AI. If the product lives on Core ML, MLX, or Metal, the A20 Pro is the natural evolution, and the memory bandwidth + FP8 gains tend to directly benefit quantized LLM inference. The tooling is mature and integrated with Xcode. There's no platform decision to make here: it's a hardware upgrade under the same SDK.
Cross-platform team (iOS + Android) that wants the same model running on both sides. Here the A20 Pro doesn't decide anything on its own. The choice comes down to which runtime unifies the pipeline (ONNX Runtime, LiteRT/TFLite) and how much quantization rework each NPU requires. Snapdragon and Dimensity enter the race because of Android market share, and the decision is about tooling portability, not peak compute.
On-device LLM prototyping and research. For those who want to quickly test a large local model, the combination of MLX (which Apple has been pushing for local inference) with the A20 Pro's larger memory bandwidth is attractive. But that applies to those who already have the hardware; nobody switches research platforms just for one chip generation.
Products sensitive to battery consumption per inference. None of the three platforms published comparable per-inference consumption figures in the material available here. Anyone with this requirement needs to measure it on the real device before choosing, period.
There's no single winner. The A20 Pro is the strongest bet within the Apple ecosystem and gains a lot in sustained performance, which is the Achilles' heel of continuous AI on phones. Outside the ecosystem, the conversation shifts to tooling and portability.
What Can't Be Confirmed Yet
The source material is Apple's presentation, and that limits what can be nailed down. Missing:
- Declared TOPS for the A20 Pro's Neural Engine, which prevents any direct numerical comparison with Hexagon or the APU 890.
- Independent benchmarks of latency and throughput running the same LLM (for example, a quantized Llama or Phi) across all three platforms.
- Energy consumption per inference, the figure that decides real products, which no one has published in a comparable way.
- How FP8 will be exposed in Core ML and MLX to the developer, and whether it requires new APIs.
- Thermal behavior under sustained AI load measured by third parties, since the 40% sustained gain is Apple's claim, not yet verified.
For the Brazilian dev, the practical takeaway is: the A20 Pro signals that running third-party LLMs in your pocket has stopped being an experiment and become a first-class use case on the Apple platform. But before rewriting the app's architecture around local inference, the honest path is to wait for the first independent benchmarks and test the real model on the device, measuring sustained latency and battery, not peak.
This piece's material did not include official images or video cleared for republication, so this article has no inline media.
Translated from the Brazilian Portuguese original · Read the original
Jev turns design system into a decision engine for AI agents
TypeSafe AI's model doesn't generate interface: it chooses among options you define. This changes what it means to maintain a design system.

