AIARTICLE

Claude Agents and Grok Bot fight over the dev's job: who solves what (and the gap on OpenAI's agent)

Anthropic and xAI sell the same promise, the agent that works from start to finish, but for different audiences. We compare what each official page actually backs up, and why OpenAI is left off this table.

What's at stake, and for whom

In recent months, two pieces of technical marketing have placed the same promise side by side: an agent that doesn't just respond, but executes entire work, on its own, from start to finish. Anthropic publishes this at claude.com/solutions/agents, selling Claude as an agent engine via API, Workbench, and the terminal with Claude Code. xAI makes a similar bet at x.ai/bot, only packaged as a teammate: Grok Bot logs into your apps, learns routines by watching you work, and then runs on its own.

This piece's angle also brings OpenAI to the table, citing an alleged product called Dots. It's worth being upfront about this right away: none of the sources provided carry verifiable material about an OpenAI product with that name, and there is no public documentation confirming that specific denomination at the time of this publication. In fairness to the reader, this comparison treats the OpenAI column as incomplete, and explains in the last section why that matters.

For whoever is deciding, the first question isn't which tool is better, but which category solves your problem. Teams that write code and teams that run operations (support, sales, back-office) are aiming at different categories under the same 'AI agent' label. Claude Agents speaks first to those who build product via API and those who code in the terminal. Grok Bot speaks to those who want to outsource repetitive browser and app tasks without writing a single line of code.

Comparison criteria

CriterionClaude (Agents / Claude Code)Grok Bot (xAI)OpenAI (agent cited in this piece)
Core propositionAgents that plan, act, and collaborate via API and Workbench, with Claude Code for terminal tasksTeammates that log into your apps, learn routines, and work in parallel 24/7not disclosed
Where it runsClaude Developer Platform (API, Workbench) and terminal via Claude CodeBot's own computer, browser, desktop and iOS appsnot disclosed
Model cited in benchmarkClaude Fable 5.1 and Claude Opus 5.5, evaluated by external partnersGrok 4.6, included in the SuperGrok plannot disclosed
Entry pricenot disclosed on the page (usage billed via API/tokens)USD 20/month on the Pro plannot disclosed
Performance evidenceQuotes from external partners (including mentions of CursorBench 3.2) and other teamsNo public benchmark cited on the pagenot disclosed
Mode of workPrompt and API; delegates code via terminal with human oversightWatches the user do the task once, saves it as a routine, repeats on its ownnot disclosed
Collaboration between agentsNot detailed on this page (focus is one model per task)Multiple Bots in the same thread pass work between themselvesnot disclosed

Analysis by criterion

Core proposition and where it runs

Anthropic's page is aimed at those who integrate: it literally shows a support ticket classification prompt, with placeholders like {{CATEGORY_LIST}} and {{TICKET_CONTENT}}, to illustrate how a Claude agent is built in Workbench before going to production via API. The natural path is code: API to orchestrate the agent, and Claude Code in the terminal for tasks like migration and bug fixing, described in the source as an agentic tool that the developer invokes directly from the shell.

Grok Bot flips the logic: instead of exposing an API for the dev to build the flow, it presents itself as an employee who logs into your systems, the way a person would. The source itself shows the example: "Sign in to Zendesk so I can work the support queue", a Bot asking to log into Zendesk and work the support queue on its own. It's interface automation, not API automation, which completely changes who can operate the tool without writing code.

Model and performance evidence

Anthropic anchors Claude's credibility in partner testimonials, not in its own benchmark published on this page. The most quotable one comes from Sualeh Asif, Director of ML:

Claude Fable 5.1 is the most capable model we've run on CursorBench 3.2, scoring 73.4% at max effort. We found it especially skilled at verifying its own work, allowing it to take on difficult coding tasks from start to finish.

Sualeh Asif, Director of ML

Another testimonial, from Mario Rodriguez, Chief Product Officer, compares Claude Opus 5.5 to Opus 5 in tests with GitHub Copilot CLI and VS Code, stating that the newer model "used among the lowest numbers of tokens and steps" measured, and solved more terminal tasks in less than half the steps. These are real numbers, but they come from partners with a commercial interest in praising the model, not from an independent evaluation.

Grok Bot, on the other hand, brings no performance numbers on its official page. The only technical reference is that the SuperGrok plan includes the Grok 4.6 model, with no benchmark, accuracy rate, or comparison with a previous version. For anyone deciding based on data, this asymmetry between the two sources is, by itself, already a deciding criterion.

Price and mode of work

Claude doesn't list an entry price on this page: usage is via API, billed by consumption, which requires a budget calculated by token volume rather than a fixed subscription. This favors teams that already know how to estimate model call costs, and makes life harder for anyone who wants a fixed number to get approved by finance.

Grok Bot, by contrast, displays a clear subscription table: USD 20 per month on the Pro plan (with the Bot's own computer, login to tools, scheduled routines), USD 30 per month on SuperGrok (Grok 4.6, image and video generation, connectors), and USD 40 per seat on the Teams plan (centralized billing, SSO via SAML/OIDC). For anyone who needs to justify cost month to month, this predictability weighs in Grok Bot's favor, even without the API robustness that Claude offers.

Collaboration between agents

Anthropic's source doesn't detail, on this page, how multiple Claude agents collaborate with each other: the material talks about one agent per task, orchestrated by the developer via API. This doesn't mean multi-agent orchestration doesn't exist in the Claude ecosystem, only that this specific page, used as the source for this comparison, doesn't cover the topic.

Grok Bot turns collaboration between instances into a direct selling point: "Put a few Bots in the same thread and they pass work between themselves", that is, putting several Bots in the same conversation so they can pass work between each other, with the human watching instead of approving each step. It's a bolder automation proposal, and also harder to audit, because fewer human checkpoints remain along the way.

Verdict by use case

  • Small team that already codes: Claude Agents with Claude Code is worth more, because the terminal and API flow fits the way the team already works, without needing to log a bot into every SaaS tool.
  • Product in production, exposed via API: Claude is the natural choice, since Anthropic's whole proposition is programmatic integration, with Workbench to test prompts before deployment.
  • Non-technical operation (support, sales, back-office): Grok Bot solves a problem that Claude doesn't address on this page, which is automating tasks inside an app's interface without writing code, as the Zendesk login example shows.
  • Tight, predictable budget: Grok Bot has the edge with a fixed dollar-per-month price, against Claude's variable API usage cost, which requires more estimation work.
  • Quick prototyping of a multi-agent flow: Grok Bot explicitly describes multiple Bots splitting work in the same thread, a feature that the Claude page used here doesn't detail.

There's no single winner because the two tools aim at different points in the same automation chain: one is built for those who create software, the other for those who operate processes inside an already-built app.

What still can't be claimed

Neither of the two official pages brings a neutral benchmark, run by a third party independent of the manufacturer. Claude's numbers (CursorBench 3.2, the Opus 5 versus Opus 5.5 comparison) come from commercial partners cited on the page itself, not from a lab with no stake in the outcome. Grok Bot publishes no performance numbers in this source, which prevents a fair comparison of speed, accuracy rate, or cost per task between the two tools.

As for the third name cited in this piece, the alleged OpenAI Dots, there is no source provided nor confirmed public documentation as of this publication. Treating that gap as data would be worse than admitting it exists: that's why OpenAI's column in the table above was left as not disclosed across the entire row, and this text avoids any claim about that product's capability, price, or architecture.

There is also, in the sources used, no release date for the pages nor a previous version of the products to measure real progress. Both are living sales pages, updated by the manufacturers whenever it suits them, which means price, cited model, and described feature can change without notice, and it's worth double-checking before deciding on a budget.

The sources provided for this comparison carry no official video URL (YouTube or Vimeo) nor image from iMasters' media bank, which is why this text includes no embedded media.

Translated from the Brazilian Portuguese original · Read the original

View profile →